Press "Enter" to skip to content

Why were the 7 Wonders of the World built?

The number seven was chosen because the Greeks believed it represented perfection and plenty, and because it was the number of the five planets known anciently, plus the sun and moon. Many similar lists have been made.

Who made the first list of seven wonders?

Diodorus Siculus

Why are the Pyramids one of the Seven Wonders?

The Great Pyramid of Giza is the only one of the seven wonders of the ancient world that still stands. The Egyptian pyramids are the most impressive structures built by humans in ancient times. Since the pyramids construction was so slow, Pharaohs ordered to start building them as soon as they were named rulers.

Who decided the 7 Wonders of the World?

The new wonders were chosen in 2007 through an online contest put on by a Swiss company, the New 7 Wonders Foundation, in which more than tens of millions of people voted. All are Unesco World Heritage sites.

What are Seven Wonders of India?

Seven Wonders Of India Which Every Indian Must Visit

  • Gomateshwar in Karnataka.
  • Hampi in Karnataka.
  • Harmandir Sahib Gold Temple in Punjab.
  • Khajuraho.
  • Konark Sun Temple in Odisha.
  • Nalanda in Bihar.
  • Taj Mahal in Agra.

Is Taj Mahal removed from 7 Wonders?

Agra & Uttar Pradesh, India In 2007, it was declared a winner of the New7Wonders of the World (2000–2007) initiative. The Taj Mahal was designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1983 for being “the jewel of Muslim art in India and one of the universally admired masterpieces of the world’s heritage”.

What is the first wonder of India?

The 7 Wonders Of India

Rank Wonder Location
1 Gomateshwara Shravanabelagola, Karnataka
2 Harmandir Sahib Darbar Sahib / Golden Temple Amritsar, Punjab
3 Taj Mahal Agra, Uttar Pradesh
4 Hampi Pampa-kshetra / Kishkinda-kshetra / Bhaskara-kshetra Vijayanagara, Karnataka

What is the name of 7 wonders?

Here they are: the Great Pyramid of Giza, the Colossus of Rhodes, the Lighthouse of Alexandria, the Mausoleum, the Temple of Artemis, and the Statue of Zeus.

Is Leaning Tower of Pisa 7 Wonders?

In 1987 the tower, along with the associated cathedral, baptistery and cemetery, was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The tower has also been called one of the Seven Wonders of the Medieval World.

Is Stonehenge a 7 wonder?

Stonehenge is one of the best known ancient wonders of the world. The 5,000 year old henge monument became a World Heritage Site in 1986. Stonehenge has been variously described as the work of giants, gods, wizards and the devil himself.

What is the most visited paid monument in the world?

The Eiffel Tower

Where is the most famous monument?


  • 10) Taj Mahal, Agra, India. (2.5 million visitors a year)
  • 9) Pyramids of Giza, Cairo, Egypt.
  • 8) Alhambra, Granada, Spain.
  • 7) Statue of Liberty, NYC, USA.
  • 6) Colosseum, Rome, Italy.
  • 5) Lincoln Memorial, Washington D.C., USA.
  • 4) Eiffel Tower, Paris, France.
  • 3) Sydney Opera House, Sydney, Australia.