Press "Enter" to skip to content

To promote public health by the timely review of applications for new products, and to protect public health by ensuring that regulated products are safe, effective, and properly labeled (FDAMA, 1997).

Why was the FDA established?

Founded to protect consumers from adulterated and misbranded food and drugs, the agency’s role is now supported by approximately 9,100 people. The history of the US Food and Drug Administration traces back to a single chemist in the US Department of Agriculture in 1862.

What is the purpose of the FDA?

FDA Mission The Food and Drug Administration is responsible for protecting the public health by ensuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, and medical devices; and by ensuring the safety of our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.

In which year was the FDA established quizlet?

Passed in 1906, this is the first federal law passed to protect the public from worthless/harmful drugs. It was amended in 1912 to require the proper labeling of ingredients.

Who is known as the father of medicine quizlet?

Hippocrates was a doctor who worked on the Greek island of Cos. He is regarded as the ‘Father of Medicine’ because his followers wrote over 60 medical books covering a wide range of medical topics including gynaecology, head wounds and diseases.

Who are known as the founders of modern medicine?


Who is known as the father of American medicine?

Sir William Osler

What disease is contracted by the highest number of healthcare workers?

In hospital workers the annual mean rate of recognised OIDs was highest for TB (5.7/100,000) followed by HCV (4.8/100,000).

What 3 diseases are healthcare workers concerned about getting?

Healthcare workers have a high risk of contact with infectious agents due to the various types of activities involved with their jobs and the possibilities of contamination.

  • Bloodborne Pathogens (BBP): HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis B, Hepatitis C.
  • Influenza (FLU)
  • Ebola.
  • Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA)

What are the four routes of transmission?

The transmission of microorganisms can be divided into the following five main routes: direct contact, fomites, aerosol (airborne), oral (ingestion), and vectorborne. Some microorganisms can be transmitted by more than one route.

What are the 5 modes of transmission?

The modes (means) of transmission are: Contact (direct and/or indirect), Droplet, Airborne, Vector and Common Vehicle. The portal of entry is the means by which the infectious microorganisms gains access into the new host. This can occur, for example, through ingestion, breathing, or skin puncture.

What is the most common route of transmission?

Contact is the most frequent mode of transmission of health care associated infections and can be divided into: direct and indirect.

Why is standard precautions important?

Standard precautions are meant to reduce the risk of transmission of bloodborne and other pathogens from both recognized and unrecognized sources. They are the basic level of infection control precautions which are to be used, as a minimum, in the care of all patients.

What diseases require standard precautions?

The following are the routes of transmission.

  • airborne transmission, e.g., pulmonary tuberculosis, chickenpox, measles.
  • droplet transmission, e.g., influenza, pertussis (whooping cough), rubella.
  • contact transmission (direct or indirect), e.g., viral gastroenteritis, Clostridium difficile, MRSA, scabies.

What are the 5 types of precautions?

Infection Control and Prevention – Transmission-based precautions

  • Contact Precautions.
  • Droplet Precautions.
  • Airborne Precautions.
  • Eye Protection.

What diseases are airborne precautions?

Airborne precautions are required to protect against airborne transmission of infectious agents. Diseases requiring airborne precautions include, but are not limited to: Measles, Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS), Varicella (chickenpox), and Mycobacterium tuberculosis.

What are 4 types of isolation?

It recommended that hospitals use one of seven isolation categories (Strict Isolation, Respiratory Isolation, Protective Isolation, Enteric Precautions, Wound and Skin Precautions, Discharge Precautions, and Blood Precautions).