Press "Enter" to skip to content

What are the two groups of protists?

Lesson Summary

  • Animal-like protists are called protozoa. Most consist of a single cell.
  • Plant-like protists are called algae. They include single-celled diatoms and multicellular seaweed.
  • Fungus-like protists are molds. They are absorptive feeders, found on decaying organic matter.

Which are characteristics of all protists select two options?

Explanation: Protists are very diverse group of organism, it contains all the organisms that does not fits into other kingdom. All of the protists are not heterotrophs some of them are autotrophs. They reproduce sexually but some of them reproduce asexually.

How are the different types of protists classified?

The protists can be classified into one of three main categories, animal-like, plant-like, and fungus-like. The animal-like protists are known as the protozoa, the plant-like protists are the algae, and the fungus-like protists are the slime molds and water molds.

What are the three main types of protists?

What is the nickname for Kingdom Protista?

Junk Drawer Kingdom

What are the 10 protists?


  • Archaeplastida (in part) Rhodophyta (red algae) Glaucophyta.
  • SAR. Stramenopiles (brown algae, diatoms, oomycetes.) Alveolata. Apicomplexa. Ciliophora. Dinoflagellata. Rhizaria. Cercozoa. Foraminifera.
  • Excavata. Euglenozoa. Percolozoa. Metamonada.
  • Amoebozoa.
  • Hacrobia.
  • Hemimastigophora.
  • Apusozoa.
  • Opisthokonta (in part) Choanozoa.

What are the four supergroups of protists?

Biogeography – This is the clade that includes some of the most important photosynthetic organisms on the planet. It also includes several clades of heterotrophs. The Stramenopiles include four different clades: 1) the Diatoms, 2) the Golden Algae, 3) the Brown Algae and 4) the Oomycetes (Water Molds).

What is one reason why the classification of protists in one kingdom is difficult?

Explanation: It is difficult for scientists to classify protists into one kingdom because they closely resemble member of other eukaryotic kingdoms than they do other protists.

How do protists gather energy?

There are many plant-like protists, such as algae, that get their energy from sunlight through photosynthesis. Some of the fungus-like protists, such as the slime molds (Figure below), decompose decaying matter. The animal-like protists must “eat” or ingest food. Some animal-like protists use their “tails” to eat.

What are three main nutritional modes used by protists?

The major modes of nutrition among protists are autotrophy (involving plastids, photosynthesis, and the organism’s manufacture of its own nutrients from the milieu) and heterotrophy (the taking in of nutrients).

What are three ways protists obtain energy?

Protists can be classified by their way of getting energy. Some protists capture sunlight and convert it to usable energy. Another group of protists gets its energy from eating other organisms. A third group gets energy by absorbing materials and nutrients from its environment.

How do protists survive?

Most protists are aquatic organisms. They need a moist environment to survive and are found in places where there is enough water for them, such as marshes, puddles, damp soil, lakes, and the ocean. Some protists are free-living organisms and others are symbionts, living inside or on other organisms, including humans.